iTunes 11 First Impressions

If you make a change to the song playing in a smart playlist, and the change removes the song from the playlist, music playback completely stops. On iTunes 10, the song would simply be removed from the playlist and playback would continue to the next song.

Can’t scrub through a song from the mini player — I used that all the time on iTunes 10. Hrm.

No cover flow view? Maybe I just can’t find it. I never really used this feature, but still surprised they took it out.

Wow this is fast. Much faster than the old iTunes 10. App loads quickly, tiles fly by, much of the lull and lag of the old iTunes is gone.

I love the new interface. Album view is awesome. I love the way they recognize and use the colors. Very cool. Works for albums that aren’t in the iTunes Music Store as well. For example, here’s an album I wrote, recorded and released back in 2008:

Image

The use the album’s background color for the background, and even analyze the text font color for the text. Very, very slick.

Being able to play songs next without interrupting your flow is a godsend. Previously, when you would double-click a song to listen to it, you’d lose your playlist and wherever you were in it. Now you can resume back to your playlist at any time. This is great when shuffling, because songs that have already played won’t play again. Sifting through your songs and quickly adding them to the Up Next queue is wonderful. Re-arranging songs in the queue and removing songs you know you won’t want to hear is really nice too.

One small gripe: not sure if this is a bug, or intended behavior, but I want to mention it. When using the mini player, you cannot see the artist and song name if you have one of the playback buttons highlighted. I’ve setup my keyboard to let me tab through all controls (as many folks I’ve seen do). Whenever you switch to the mini player, the rewind button automatically gets the focus:

When the rewind button has the focus, the view will never switch to the artist/song name. I wondered why for an hour I could not view the name of the song that was playing in the mini player. It was driving me nuts! But now, I realize you have to tab four times over to the Up Next button in order to see the text. This is kind of annoying and should be fixed. I’ll be submitting this feedback to Apple.

I will be updating this post with more thoughts throughout the day.

